My Secret Obession: World War II Bunkers

There was an article last Summer about how some kid discovered some bunkers in Denmark that are in pristine condition. So awesome.

I don’t know what it is with me and those concrete bunkers built during World War II. When I’m driving along the French or Dutch coast, or through the Eiffel in Belgium, and I see those telltale right angles breaking through the tranquil countryside, I pull my car over and start climbing over the damn things like a little kid.

A fading memory

A fading memory - one of the German emplacements on Omaha beach

What is it about these decaying, stained and otherwise hideous concrete structures that make me so crazy? They violate an otherwise peaceful landscape. Local kids use these things to tag up, shoot up, or drink up and I reckon most locals want to forget them. Yet all I can imagine is what it must have been liked over half a century previous when these things were built. I guess it’s the knowledge that as I stand there, I’m at Ground Zero of the showdown that determined the direction of World history.

It’s like walking in the footsteps of giants.

Last Summer I found an amazing set of bunkers and gun emplacements on an island of the Dutch coast. Although a foot note in a side theater of the main conflict, the island of Texel (pronounced “Tessel”) was the scene of a vicious battle which earned it a few dubious – and grim –

distinctions …

1 Comment

Filed under Denmark, Europe, Germans, History, Military, military history, Netherlands, Travel, World War II, Writing

One response to “My Secret Obession: World War II Bunkers

  1. trygve binder

    interresting stuff. i’m living in norway and share your interrest for german bunkers. I guess we norwegian bunker freaks are spoiled. in our country we have numerous installations you don’t find elswhere. “Sonder”- constructions. tunnell-systems, Huge torpedobatteries on the shorelines….
    best of all,our regelbaus are not ripped inside. if really lucky you can still find german helmets,handguns or porcellain,, whatever the germans brought with’em.It’s still to find in terrain. Take a trip to our country made of rocks and mountains. “secret” bunkers still to find. I love chasing left alone souveneers.

Leave a Reply

